Will Rhodes Appointed Captain As ECB Announces County Select XI Squad For The Warm-Up Game Against India

England and Wales Cricket Board [ECB] have named a 14-strong County squad for the upcoming warm-up game against Virat Kohli’s Team India.

Virat Kohli’s men will lock horns with hosts England in a grueling five-match Test series next month. The series will also kickstart the second cycle of the ICC World Test Championship cycle.

Initially, India wasn’t slated to play any warm-up game before the Test series but following BCCI and the Virat Kohli-led team management’s request, the ECB agreed to conduct a three-day warm-up affair.

The warm-up game will take place at the Emirates Riverside in Durgam from Tuesday- July 20th- and it will be played behind closed doors.

India, ECB
Team India (Photo-AFP)

The ECB, on Thursday, announced the squad that will take on the visitors from July 20.

Warwickshire seam-bowling all-rounder Will Rhodes has been named captain of the County squad which also consists of recent Test debutant, James Bracey and opener Hasib Hameed, who made his Test debut against Virat Kohli’s men way back in 2016.

“The squad was selected after consulting with the first-class counties on player availability and to provide some of the high-potential talent from across the county game with the opportunity to test themselves against the ICC World Test Championship finalists,” said the ECB in an official press release.

“The county players will bridge into a team environment and undergo Covid testing before being cleared to play in the match,” the statement added.

The ECB also went on to thank the various counties for making their players available for the warm-up game against the tourists.

“The ECB would like to place on record its thanks to the first-class counties for their continued support to make players available for this fixtures and to Durham County Cricket Club for providing facilities for this match to be staged,” the statement added.

The three-day warm-up game will be telecasted on Durham cricket’s official Youtube channel.

Also Read- India Bowling Coach Bharat Arun, Reserve Opener Abhimanyu Easwaran And Wriddhiman Saha Under Isolation In The UK

County Select XI squad that will lock horns with Team India-

Will Rhodes (captain), Zak Chappell, Haseeb Hameed, Lyndon James, Jake Libby, Rehan Ahmed  Tom Aspinwall, Ethan Bamber, James Bracey, Jack Carson, Craig Miles, Liam Patterson-White, James Rew, Rob Yates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *